The National Chiaotung University in Taiwan joined the OpenCourseWare Consortium in April 2007, and launched their own OpenCourseWare collection in June of the same year. Currently, they provide 58 courses, 42 of which are recorded in real classes during the semester. They also provide discussion boards to facilitate interaction between self-learners and online teaching assistants, to nurture a self-learning environment. This self-learning can then lead to official certification from the university, even for outside students, after sitting a certification exam. Sitting the exam is free, and only requires completing an application procedure {NCTU}. 

In 2007, a number of other universities followed the National Chiaotung University, and joined the OpenCourseWare Consortium. The National Chiaotung University began outreach in early 2008, to invite other universities to form a national association, and on the 24th of December, Taiwan OpenCourseWare Consortium was officially formed, with 18 founding university members. The different universities have their own specialities, the National Chiaotung University has continued developing their basic science courses and offering them to other universities and self-learners. Taiwan University and National Chengchi University focus on basic education, National Taiwan Normal University offers courses on the classics, and National Taiwan Ocean University, National Taiwan University of Science and Technology and National Sun Yat-Sen University have all offered courses related to their specialities {TWOCW}. 

 From the comparisons with other Asian-Pacific countries, the researcher discovered that all countries were influenced by MIT on the initial development stage.  Haishuo